Success

Posted on October 11, 2012 by

8


“A lot of people in this world, search endlessly for some complex magical formula to understand why some people are successful and why others are not”. (Jaret Grossman)

Michael Jordan is still the best basketball player to this day. People tend to think they could never even match up to his standards a lot of people seem to believe he was given his talent. I’m here to tell you that work ethic is the gift. This isn’t about a sport, it’s about life, it’s about everything that you care for. In Age Of Exploration I have learned a lot, I have learned that everyone has a chance and everyone can learn to present well. It just requires work, hard work and most importantly effort. At the height 5’11 a sophomore in high school Michael Jordan was told by his coach that he was too short, the only person to make the team was his friend Harvest Leroy Smith also a sophomore. Even though Michael Jordan didn’t make the team he still continued trying and never gave up. He was so determined to be successful there was no chance a public school Varsity Basketball coach was going to tell him he wasn’t tall enough. Determined to succeed Michael Jordan was the star of the JV team and averaged 40 points a game. Our first presentations in Age Of Exploration were a bit rough, yet I questioned myself after how hard did I work and how bad did I want it? Sadly, I worked hard but me and my group didn’t perform to our full potential. The next year after being put on Junior Varsity Michael Jordan earned a spot on the Varsity Roster and then later became in my opinion the greatest basketball player of all time. For my next presentation I know for a fact I will perform better, I will push myself passed my limits to do well, just like Michael Jordan did. To end my post I leave you with this a little something to think about:

“I’ve missed more than 9000 shots in my career. I’ve lost almost 300 games. 26 times, I’ve been trusted to take the game winning shot and missed. I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life. And that is why I succeed. ” -Michael Jordan

“Time is the most precious thing  that is out there. It is the one thing you cant ever buy or buy back, so these successful people realize that they have a allotted time to preform a given task because going through the motions is the most disadvantages thing you can do. That often when you do something wrong the first time you have to go back and do it right the 2nd time as if when you did it right you never had to go back and do it again.” (Grossman)

How bad do you want it?

——-
Works Cited

“The BEST Motivation – YouTube.” YouTube – Broadcast Yourself.. N.p., n.d. Web. 10 Oct. 2012.

“Michael Jordan – Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia.” Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. N.p., n.d. Web. 10 Oct. 2012. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Michael_Jordan

Posted in: Learning, Projects