Creative Commons

Posted on May 14, 2012 by

0


What goes into the making of a documentary? That is the question we all have to ask ourselves as we go into our most recent project, a full group project to make a documentary on the Boston Tea Party. My job in this Documentary is to edit the final version of the documentary, not only that but I also have to find a reenactment scene that we can use to put into our documentary. This is a lot harder then one can imagine because of all of the reenactments in the US very few are videoed and the few that are aren’t under the Creative Commons law, that really got me thinking on how the media on the internet is protected.

I was one of the people that was strongly opposed to PIPA and SOPA not because I think its right to pirate music a videos but because I think its wrong to be able to take away the freedom that people have on the Internet. Music has been pirated for years and now that there is the Internet pirating music is a lot easier, and not only music but also movies, games, programs and many other digital merchandise. The music industry and the government decided to come up with a law to allow people to permit other people to use their work for educational, and non-commercial purposes, it is called the Creative Commons law. This was a very big change and it took sometime before people started to use it. The Creative Commons law is very helpful in preventing some piracy and plagiarism but didn’t have the big effect that the music industry hoped for and piracy continued. Some artists support the sharing of music and some artists strongly oppose the sharing. I cannot deny that I have pirated music but at the same time I always support the artists I really like. I think that we all need to understand that some things are OK to take and some things need to be bought.

Posted in: Projects, Research