Leadership In the Classroom: Benefits and Drawback

Posted on May 1, 2012 by

1


As we approach the end of the year, my Age of Exploration class is currently working on a documentary on the revolutionary war for our final project of the year. When picking parts for the documentary, I decided to take on the job of Director of the “making of” video. The making of video is a behind the scenes video showing the work our class accomplished and how we got to our final product.

At first I thought this job would be simple, filming people around the classroom as they talked, but it has shown to be hard to both participate in class discussions while recording them. I first learned a great deal about the technology aspect of my job. I got help setting up cameras, getting quality sound, and learning how to focus in on a discussion while including all people who are participating. I also got some expertise advice from a professional cameraman/director.

I have found that while observing my class discuss this huge project, I have also witnessed how the group works as a whole. Although my class is full of many great leaders, this is both an advantage and a huge drawback, causing tension, and leadership abilities to be questioned. One of the biggest problems I witness when observing the class, is coming to an agreement on a topic and story board. There are many creative minds in the class, all who have many different views of how this documentary should look, and the many different minds create much discussion and ideas. It is very hard to narrow down the ideas and options to suit every person in the class, which also creates frustration and arguments. Overall, the class has worked fairly well as a group, but there have been times when the strong leadership skills of each individual has gotten out of hand or has created a conflict within the group.

Throughout the past few weeks, I have learned much about my classmates and what it takes to work together. So far the project is progressing, but not without clearly showing the drawbacks to a class full of leaders. I understand that in this situation we have no choice of what types of learners we work with, but in a perfect situation, a mix of both strong leaders and those who are good followers are ideal for a project such as this one to work smoothly.

Posted in: Projects