Learning to Follow

Posted on April 25, 2012 by

22


Over the past several years of school, I have become aware of the ways I learn best, and the subjects that I’m good at. Along with learning the places where I succeed, I have had to face the places where I struggle and learn how to improve in those areas. The biggest problem that has been brought to my attention is the fact that I don’t know how to shut up. My problem isn’t that I talk during class as a distraction; it’s that I spend way too much time talking during discussions and I don’t give other people the chance to speak. I’m an extremely opinionated person, and I want my voice to be heard. Speaking up isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but I don’t like sitting back and letting other people make decisions for me. Long story short, I’m bossy.

Image

The last project in Age of Exploration is a collaborative video project. Being someone that likes to lead, group projects are extremely difficult. In the past, I have had a tendency to take over the group whether everyone else agreed to it or not. When we were assigned the first video project, I knew I had to find a way to let other people lead and not boss them around. My group was filled with the more vocal people in the class, so finding a balance between roles was not only difficult for me. In the beginning, the four of us struggled to agree on an idea, and none of us were willing to back down. The first few days we spent more time arguing than doing actual work. As time went on, it was clear we had to learn ways to make decisions without all the fighting. After a while, our problems were beginning to be resolved. I started to understand that having one leader only makes things worse. In a group, every person has to step up and take control once in a while, but they also have to let everyone else in the group have a chance to lead as well.

The way a team plays as a whole determines its success. You may have the greatest bunch of individual stars in the world, but if they don’t play together, the club won’t be worth a dime. -Babe Ruth

Making a group work truly does depend on the individuals working together as equals and learning to share ideas. The outcome really does depend on the group as a whole, rather than each indvidaul. Even if everyone in the group likes to be on top, the only way things will ever work is if everyone learns to lead as well as follow.

It may have been difficult at times, but the skills I learned during the last project have been extremely helpful in understanding how to go about group work. In the next collaboration project, I plan on utilizing these skills and learning leave behind the bossy side and become part of the team.

———–
Works Cited

N.d. Photograph. n.p. Web. 25 Apr 2012. <http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-4VQvYmqLsLs/TZ1M_mZuibI/AAAAAAAAARY/N2XmGgSr0nk/s1600/team_building_ring.jpg&gt;.

“Team Work Quotes.” Thinkexist. N.p., n.d. Web. 25 Apr 2012. <http://thinkexist.com/quotations/team_work/2.html&gt;.

Posted in: Learning