A New Level of Independence

Posted on November 7, 2011 by

8


I have always loved being independent and making my own choices, so when I learned that Age of Exploration was a project based class where you choose your own topic I knew that I wanted to take it. I love being able to choose what I research because when learning about something I am interested I can give my very best effort without dreading the project. From the topic of my project to how I spend my class time, Age of Exploration is a class filled with decision-making. Although I love making choices for myself, at the same time the amount of independence is a little overwhelming.

Class time wise, I know I am making the right decisions by working on my project and my project only. So far I have been able to accomplish a lot during class time, limiting the amount of work I have to do outside of class and during the last few days before the project is due. The hardest part about this class, for me, is knowing whether or not I am going in the right direction with the project. In my other classes I am always asking questions about my ideas for assignments and how it should be done, but in Age of Exploration there are not very many guidelines and where I go with my project is up to me.

You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the one who’ll decide where to go… – Dr. Seuss, Oh, The Places You’ll Go!

Now that I am finishing up my second Age of Exploration project I have more of an idea of how this class works and the steps I need to take to complete each project. I think it is very helpful that each project not only covers something new but is done in a different way and different format, because I will be able to make new choices every time and find out what works for me. I’m hoping to become more confident with my decisions as I get further in the class and by the end of the year know how to make decisions that my project will benefit strongly from.

_____________________
Citation:

Chatterjee, Tilottama. “Being Independent Quotes.” Buzzle Web Portal: Intelligent Life on the Web. Web. 07 Nov. 2011. <http://www.buzzle.com/articles/being-independent-quotes.html&gt;.

Posted in: Learning