Technology’s Role In Learning

Posted on November 3, 2011 by

13


When I decided to take Age of Exploration this year, I was not quite sure what I was getting into. I knew it was a project based class, yet I was not sure how I would go about doing my work if there was not an assignment due daily. In two months I have learned so much about how I work best and how I can best produce quality work. My teacher, Mike, showed me how technology and social media can play an important role in the learning process. He introduced me to blogging and right away I loved it. Most teachers are not as ready to jump into writing on blogs, or communicating through twitter, but Mike has shown how these tools are great resources for communicating with fellow classmates, and the world. I have learned where my best writing comes from, and found it is when I am not confined to a specific topic but I am able to pick things that interest me. One great part about blogging is the ability to reflect on your recent work and get opinions, which is why I was most drawn to the idea.

Technology is used by so many people on a daily bases, but for me I did not realize its full potential when it comes to learning. I mostly thought of technology and social media as a form of entertainment, and I believe some teachers still do. In many of the classes I take social media could play an important role in helping me understand topics, improve my writing skills, and learn great forms of communication, yet many teachers are still hesitant to try them due to the amount of kids who abuse the privileges of social media. Through social media and technology I have discovered how fun learning can be, whereas in previous years learning became more of a chore than anything else.

“Develop a passion for learning. If you do, you will never cease to grow.”
Anthony J. D’Angelo  
 

I enjoy blogging because it gives me the freedom to write about whatever I chose, to have a large audience, and to start a conversation with the world. Communication is a key part of our world today, and without technology and social media we would not have come near as far as we are today.

________________________________
Sources:

http://www.irmattstenquist.com/2011/05

http://www.myseosoftware.com/tag/blogging-tips/

http://seo-alien.com/articles/blogging-social-media-requires-commitment/

http://www.digitalworkplaceblog.com/internet/social-media/

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Posted in: Learning, Technology