Just get started already

Posted on November 3, 2011 by

7


Like many of my other classmates, I chose to take age of ex because of the project based curriculum. I did not, however,  choose this because I am good at projects, but because I had a lot of trouble last year completing the projects, while tests and quizzes were much easier. I decided that it would be important for me to work on my project based learning skills, and age of x has so far has really helped me do this. I have never had trouble speaking out loud to groups, and writing has not been a problem for me. The problems which I generally have with projects is the idea of sifting through large amounts of information and finding the important parts.

I tend to get overwhelmed, and freak out.

I never know where to start, or what to read. What i am finding though, is that the best way to navigate this  information, is to just start reading. Just start reading through one of the websites or books, and before you know  it,  you start to find bits and pieces of what is important. With these, you can then branch out and do research  more  specifically. Another tactic that I have learned in writing informative papers, is that rather than finding  information  and then writing the paper with that information, it it better to find your background information,  and then decide  what it is you are trying to express.

Once you know what it is you want to say, start writing, and find the information along the way. This way you skip reading unnecessary information, and find directly what you want to include in your paper. Overall, I really have enjoyed age of x so far. It has been a huge learning experience for me, and I have learned a thing or two about what methods of research best suit me. Another thing that has been very interesting is the idea of active, conscious procrastination, which I have experienced as a very positive form of procrastination. Sometimes I consciously choose to put off the project till a certain date, and this has been a very positive for me, as I am in complete control of my procrastination.

The following article was a very interesting idea, as it confirmed many of my own ideas about procrastination:

http://www.motivationalmagic.com/library/ebooks/motivation/motivation%20-%20An%20article%20on%20procrastination.pdf

Most projects start out slowly – and then sort of taper off.

-Norman Ralph Augustine

Citations:

Posted in: Learning