The Development of my Project

Posted on November 2, 2011 by

2


I began this project by learning as much about the Reformation as I could.  Instead of immediately choosing a topic, I decided to learn as much as I could about topics such as Lutheranism, Calvinism, and other aspects from the Reformation.  Finally, I decided that Witchcraft and Sorcery would be the most interesting topic for me to research.  I began on Wikipedia and other encyclopedia sites and sources trying to learn about and gather much knowledge as I could about witchcraft during the reformation.  Many signs pointed towards researching the Salem Witch Trials, as they are the most famous events relating to Witchcraft, however I decided not to research them because I wanted to find a more unique topic, and the Salem Witch Trials took place during a later timeframe then I would like.  So I looked at the Age of Exploration google site and beneath the Witchcraft section I found the “Malleus Maleficarum (The Witch Hammer 1486).”  So I decided to research this on Wikipedia and I learned about its contents, its author(s), and various other aspects of the document.  The Malleus Maleficarum was written by Catholics from a very Catholic point of view so I will also be learning as much as I can about the Catholic faith so that I may understand the Malleus Maleficarum as well as possible.

I have been following the assignment guidelines closely, and currently I am working to establish what my primary document will be.  I will most likely take a page of text from the Malleus (which is a treatise) itself, however if I come across a different document relating to it which will meet my demands in a superior manor I will choose this document.  I am happy with where I am thus far and I believe I am progressing at a pace suitable for me and my learning style.

Posted in: Projects