A Different Learning Style

Posted on October 31, 2011 by

21


Ever since I was little, I have marched to the beat of a different drummer.

I didn’t start talking until I was about two and a half– however, I skipped the two-or-three-word-command phase and went right to full sentences. In kindergarten, while the other kids were glueing pinto beans on the letter ‘B’, I preferred to head over to the dress-up station.

A small issue with today’s style of learning, however, is it’s hard to accommodate kids like me. I never liked to sit still; I preferred active learning. I never liked being told what to do and- worse- what to creatively write; I like being given a prompt and allowed to go where I please with it. It’s always been easier for me to learn in these ways, which is why I love my Age of Exploration class.

In Age of Exploration, we are given an era and allowed to choose our own topic depending on what we’re interested in. We then explore our topic further and explain to the class how it ties back to the era we were given. 95 percent of the time in class, we are allowed to do quiet independent work. We are allowed to choose what kind of presentation we’d like to do; a long, informative blog post or an in-class presentation. This style of learning, I’ve found, is something that really appeals and works for me. I’m glad that my school offers such a class.

Being an aspiring actress and Shakespeare devotee, I decided to look into Henry VIII and how his reign influenced the religious structure in old England. Reading Shakespeare’s Henry VIII in a historical context will give me greater understanding of the way Shakespeare decides to depict his primary character. It will give me a greater depth of understanding of Shakespeare’s play than I’ve had before.

“Learning is but an adjunct to ourself/ And where we are learning likewise is: Then when ourselves we see in ladies’ eyes, Do we not likewise see our learning there?” -William Shakespeare

______________
Works Cited

Henry VIII picture: http://www.luminarium.org/renlit/henrytudor.jpg
Quote: Act III Scene III, Love’s Labour’s Lost, William Shakespeare

Posted in: Learning