The Power of Research

Posted on October 27, 2011 by

10


My attraction to the research-based history class Age of Exploration began with three qualities: Creativity, freedom, and independence.  I am, and always have been, a creative and independent thinker who prefers flexibility and immunity from strict rules and guidelines.  I am an enthusiast of having the opportunity to learn about what interests and is relevant to me, and I feel that Age of Ex has given me exactly that.  For our first project I chose to research Joan of Arc and the Hundred Year’s War, a topic which both interested me, and seemed relevant because I had visited France the year before.  I welcomed the freedom of the project with open arms and learned about Joan at my own pace, with the resources I preferred, and in the manor I saw fit.  With this open-ended project style, I was not only able to learn about my topic, I also learned about myself as a scholar and a researcher, and I discovered what my strengths and weaknesses were throughout the process.  This knowledge about myself and how I learn will not only help me for future Age of Exploration projects this year, it will help me later in life to become a strong lifelong learner.

“Research is creating new knowledge.”

Neil Armstrong

I believe that any independent research skills I can acquire through Age of Exploration and my scholarly career will last and remain indispensable for my entire life.  Planet earth is an expansive place, filled with an infinite amount of knowledge to be attained.  As humans we are naturally curious, and the only way to satisfy that lust for discovery is often times through research itself.  For all great discoveries and innovations can be traced back to research in some form.  I hope to continue to learn and to educate myself for as long as I can, and the research skills I acquire in Age of Ex will help me achieve this goal.

Mind and Earth images

Posted in: Learning