Freedom in Research

Posted on October 26, 2011 by

5


When choosing a history course to take this year, I heard the words “Project based class”, and I was sold.  Given I strongly dislike history and can’t stand listening to people lecture during class, Age of Exploration sounded perfect. I remember thinking to myself, “Well, it’s history, so it’s going to be boring no matter what. At least we get a ton of class time to complete projects. It’ll be easy, right?” I quickly learned that my perception of the class was not true at all.

After being assigned a project on the 15th century, I was not very excited and began to doubt the choice I had made. Finding a topic and researching was not as easy as I had originally expected it to be and the topics I was finding did not interest me at all. It wasn’t until I stumbled upon the topic of 15th century art on a wikipedia page that I began to truly understand the beauty of a research based class. As I began researching 15th century art a little more, I ended up being intrigued by the information I was finding. Not only did I feel like I had finally found a topic I was interested in, I felt like I was finally learning information that I would remember in the future. Although the research process was turning out to be more difficult than I had hoped it would be, I began to thoroughly enjoy learning information about my topic. I came the conclusion that the reason I had finally begun to enjoy history was due to the fact that I was not confined to researching a specific topic that I was given.  For the first time I began to appreciate the freedom involved in a project based course. Not only does the class given me the opportunity to be creative in coming up with topics, it has given me a want to continue researching on my own time.

“You can teach a student a lesson for a day; but if you can teach him to learn by creating curiosity, he will continue the learning process as long as he lives. ~Clay P. Bedford

Although the class has turned out to be more difficult than I had originally anticipated, it has opened several doors for me as a learner, thinker, and researcher.

____________________________
Works Cited

Callahan, Dennis. “50 Quotes About Learning.” Learnstreaming. N.p., 16/5/11. Web. 26 Oct 2011. <http://learnstreaming.com/50-quotes-about-learning/&gt;.

Photograph. ClipartPal. First Last. Web. 26 Oct 2011. <http://www.clipartpal.com/clipart_pd/education/schoolclassroom_11492.html&gt;.

Posted in: Learning