The Fight Against Procrastination

Posted on October 10, 2012 by

5


Procrastination is an epidemic blazing its way across not only the youth of America, but every person in the world. Procrastination as defined by Merriam-Webster’s dictionary is to put off intentionally and habitually. I’ve got to admit that I have been guilty of procrastination in the past, and I’m sure I’ll do it again in the future. With Age of Ex being such an independent class, it makes it just that much easier to procrastinate, so in an attempt to help you put out the fire of procrastination in your life, I thought that I’d share some of my best tips with y’all.

First of all, PLAN IT OUT. I cannot stress that enough. Getting everything you need done planned out and spread out from the very beginning so you don’t get overwhelmed at any time during your project. Then stick to that plan you make, and everything will go smoothly. Even use a simple to-do list! One trick that I like to use to keep myself on the plan I make is to reward myself when I stick to it and punish myself by missing out on something when I fail to meet those personal deadlines. Its amazing how just letting yourself get Starbucks or not letting yourself will motivate you to stick to that plan. Yes, this does require some self control, but thats another problem to talk about another time.

Next, Get away from distractions. Close out your Facebook, turn off the TV, and stick yourself at your desk. Yes you can still open a new Facebook tab, but a trick I use sometimes is that I open the tabs I need for my work, and then turn off my wifi until I get what I need done. You’d be surprised how much more quickly your work gets done when doing this, and I actually have more free time to waste later when I do this.

Lastly, use electronic calendars to your advantage. Like I said before, I set out personal due dates, but I don’t just keep them in my head where I might forget them, or on paper that I can ignore or lose. I use the Calendar App on my phone, computer and on my Google account. These all sync to each other instantly so I get a reminder to do what needs to be done. When I recommend that you make each calendar event have multiple alerts, that way if you ignore one, you get reminded again 20 minutes later, and you’ll be amazed how you’re getting work done on schedule. One really easy trick if you have an iPhone 4S or newer is that you can actually use Siri to add those personal due dates to your calendar. I do this and it just makes it that much easier. Go ahead! Hold down that home button, and ask Siri to add your next due date to your calendar, and you’re set!

Try out these new tips in your daily life, and I bet you’ll be happier, have more time for fun, and I bet you’ll even get better grades. Join me in the fight against procrastination!

______

Images:

Procrastination meme:  http://www.kilork.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/04/procrastination.jpg

To Do list: http://www.123rf.com/photo_8357112_to-do-list-with-stop-smoking.html

Facebook Prohibited: http://youngandthrifty.ca/9-reasons-why-i-deactived-facebook/

iCal Logo: http://www.rovc.ca/content.cfm?id=102

Posted in: Learning, Technology